Beginner advice - popping up

Thommo84's picture
Thommo84 started the topic in Thursday, 7 Jun 2018 at 10:23am

Hi Guys,

I know this topic gets smashed but can't seem to find consistent advice so thought I'd try here.

First off, I'm just getting into surfing after retiring from all sorts of other sports, footy, cricket etc, surfing is nowhere near as easy as it looks!!!!!

I live in Bris and travel up the sunny coast most weekends for a surf.

Anyway, I'm about 5'8 and 75kgs so grabbed a 7' Stuart Pro Elite mini mal as it was a good price and thought that the shape etc would allow me to duck dive easier. I've been going ok with it, couple of lessons etc but am struggling with the pop up.

This is where the advice gets confusing......most learner advice out there showing the pop up technique are on boards where the instructor's toes are on the board, sand, mat, whatever they are using to demo. On my board my toes aren't on the board and so i've been practising the pop up without using them (bloody hard).

So my questions is
1) is my board length ok, or should i go to a longer board where my toes are on the board and it will be easier to pop up given that I will only be surfing once a week. Or should i try and master the 'shortboard pop up' and stay on the board i have?

Appreciate any advice guys.

thermalben's picture
thermalben's picture
thermalben Thursday, 7 Jun 2018 at 10:35am

Not quite sure what you're saying - "the instructor's toes are on the board", and "On my board my toes aren't on the board and so i've been practising the pop up without using them". 

Having your toes over the back of the board shouldn't make much difference to your ability to pop up. Your toes don't come into play until they land on the deck. 

Thommo84's picture
Thommo84's picture
Thommo84 Thursday, 7 Jun 2018 at 10:46am