FISHBOWL Surftag heading to D’Bah for QLD Qualifier      

Form Guide

Boardriding llubs from Queensland and Northern NSW will be heading to Duranbah this Sunday for the 2019 FISHBOWL Surftag QLD Qualifier.

With both Men’s and Women’s divisions being contested, Snapper Rocks Surfriders (Men) and D’Bah Boardriders (Women) will start their Australian Title defence. The top eight men’s teams and top four women’s teams will qualify for the FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Championships to be held at Queenscliff Beach, Sydney, in May.

With an overall increase in women’s teams contesting the Australian Series, D’Bah have confirmed their winning team from last year will be on deck this Sunday at the QLD Qualifier.

Audrey and Grace Styman-Lane, Brodie and Amiya Doyle and Freya Prumm will be up against teams from Cabarita, Burleigh Heads, North End and Currumbin Alley.

Audrey Styman-Lane of D’Bah Boardriders (Photo: Bernadette McAlinden)

In the Men’s division the Association of Veteran Surfers will be competing for the first time in Surftag’s 18 year history. The Veteran’s will confirm their team on the morning of the event and have named a solid squad that includes Adam Cross, Tommy Melville, Tony Watene, Phil Rowlings, Steve Herriott, and Dan Johnson.

Veteran Surfers President Matt Hoare is pumped to be competing against the best Boardriding Clubs in the region, “The boys are really excited to be surfing in an event with such a great history”, Hoare said. “We love the tag team format and hopefully this is the first of many years for our club competing in the Surftag Series”.

Boardriding Clubs competing on the weekend include LeBa, Byron Bay, Kingscliff, Cabarita, D’Bah, Snapper Rocks, Kirra, Currumbin Alley, Palm Beach, Burleigh Heads, North End, Veteran Surfers, WindanSea and North Shore.

The 2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series is a proud supporter of Lifeline. Lifeline provides all Australians experiencing a personal crisis with access to 24-hour crisis support and suicide prevention services.

2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series

  • NSW Qualifier - 9 & 10 March – Wollongong (Woonona – Stanwell Park)
  • QLD Qualifier - 14 April –  Duranbah Beach, Tweed Heads
  • Australian Championships – 10 & 11 May – Queenscliff Beach, Sydney
    (WA, SA & VIC Boardriding Clubs invited to compete)

The 2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series is proudly supported by Swellnet