Zeke Lau appeals to the gods of Instagram
Fresh off his second place at the World Cup of Surfing, Zeke Lau has thrown shade on Jack Robinson's win by calling into question a collision that occurred at the start of the final.
The collision happened five minutes in after Robbo caught a wave but dived through the back when it shut down. Two waves later, Zeke took off and quickly pulled in, yet his exit was blocked by Robbo's bailed board. See video footage below.
The ride was deemed incomplete, Lau scored just 1.60. Both surfers damaged their boards and had to swap them out. Today Zeke is saying his board broke, yet webcast footage showed WSL colour guy Folkey (Faulkey? Folky?) struggling to find any damage. Scratched fins the final squint-eyed prognosis.
Robbo easily won the heat, 19.07 to Lau's 12.06, and the two embraced in the shorebreak. Yet today, perhaps after the reality of failing to requalify has sunk in, Lau has taken to social media to air his complaint.
Lau, who pushed the rules to the limit in a 2018 heat against JJF at Margaret River, wrote:
“When a surfer is put in a position while paddling out that they cannot get out of the way and a collision happens due to this, it is up to a majority of the judges to call interference based on whether it is determined to be accidental or not”.
"My opinion is that we are “professional surfers”. The best of the best! Going off the rule, surfer in white COULD have gotten out of the way. From this video clip you can see surfer in white has enough time to make a conscious decision where to paddle. Just so happens that the line he chose is directly where I drew my line to come out of the barrel, which is the ONLY option I had."
"The surfer paddling out has options to avoid the surfer on the wave. He should be in the channel paddling back out. It should come down to who had priority over the situation. These 2 surfers are not equal in this specific case and the rules should benefit the surfer on the wave utilizing priority."
"This ride would have been the first major score of the heat, but was deemed incomplete because surfer in white chose to BAIL his surfboard causing me to fall off, hindering the scoring potential of my wave, breaking my board, and leaving white with priority."
"How is it okay for the interfering surfer to gain so much advantage from a collision and an interference not be called?"
"The highlighted rule 168 section 3 ENABLES controversy and should be addressed."
It's unknown if Lau has lodged an official protest or he's expecting his Instagram followers to lobby on his behalf.