Maroubra United win FISHBOWL Surftag NSW qualifier        

Form Guide

Maroubra United and North Narrabeen Boardriders have raised the winner’s trophy at the FISHBOWL Surftag NSW Qualifier at Wollongong over the weekend. On Saturday at McCauley’s Beach, North Narrabeen dominated the Women’s Final scoring 97.63 with Queenscliff (53.43) finishing runners-up with North Shelly (42.10) third and Werri Beach (38.20) fourth.

Elle Northey (25.67) & Laura Enever (26.87) put North Narrabeen in a commanding position early in the one-hour final with Bel Hardwick (13.77), Tru Starling (8.47) and Sophia Chapman (18.87) adding to the North Narrabeen total.

North Narrabenn Women (Bernadette McAlinden)

Enever posted a 9.77 on her Powerwave executing multiple backhand snaps, “It’s always so fun surfing for North Narrabeen especially with the all-girls team, it’s lots more fun”, Enever said. “So happy to get the win with the girls and it’s great to have Tru and Sophia in the team now alongside Elle and Bel”.

Alysse Cooper was the standout for Queenscliff scoring a 5.83 and a 6.80 on her Powerwave. Megan Wigham was North Shelly’s best with Celia Madeya posting a 9.87 two wave total for Werri Beach. The fourth place finish was an encouraging result for the Werri Beach Women’s team who were competing in the FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series for the first time.

Alysse Cooper - Queenscliff (Bernadette McAlinden)

On Sunday at Stanwell Park, Maroubra United won the Men’s Final holding the lead from start to finish. Maroubra’s Monty Tait (24.83) opened up with a 7.5 which he backed up with an 8.67 Powerwave to lock in the highest two wave total of the decider.

Max McGuigan (13.67), Blake Thornton (24.10), Troy Van Vliet (13.83) and Jake Scott (11.53) kept the big scores coming for Maroubra who finished with a total of 90.97. North Narrabeen (72.80) finished runners-up with Elouera (57.17) third and Scarborough (53.37) fourth.

Maroubra team captain Blake Thornton said it was a special day for the club.

“This is an amazing victory for the club, we were consistent all day and we stepped it up a gear in the final”, Thornton said. “We had a little extra motivation as we were surfing for Cooper Killorn who tragically passed away early in the week. This was a victory for him and the community, we are looking forward to the National Final”.

Monty Tait – Maroubra United (Bernadette McAlinden)

North Narrabeen’s Dylan Moffat and Cooper Chapman started strongly for North Narrabeen with Chapman landing a high risk air reverse on his opening wave scoring a 7.33. With conditions becoming more and more wind swept throughout the Final the big scores became harder to find for Jordy Lawler (12.60), Kai Warner (13.27) and Christo Hall (12.17) who was involved in an epic shoulder to shoulder sprint up the beach for bonus points with Scarborough’s Christian DeClouett in the final minutes of the event.

Elouera surfed with their “A” team on Saturday with Connor O’Leary and Shane Campbell heading to Newcastle on Sunday for the QS6000 which opened the door for Nathan Rohr and Ben Sear to step up for EBC. Both Rohr and Sear posted solid scores during the Quarter and Semi Finals with Rohr posting a 5.90 Powerwave in the Final.

Scarborough’s Nic Squires was one of the standout surfers of the event posting scores in the excellent range during the Quarter and Semi Finals. The fourth place finish is Scarborough’s best recent in the FISHBOWL Surftag NSW Qualifier since a runner-up finish in 2006.

Men's victors, Maroubra (Bernadette McAlinden)

With the top twelve teams qualifying to the FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Championships, Werri Beach, Avoca, North Avalon, Curl Curl, North Shelly, Cronulla, Sandon Point and Merewether will join Maroubra, North Narrabeen, Elouera and Scarborough in the heat draw at Queenscliff Beach in May.

In the Women’s Division North Narrabeen, Queenscliff, North Shelly and Werri Beach have qualified to the Australian Championships with Scarborough Boardriders first reserves.

2019 FISHBOWL Surftag NSW Qualifier

  • 1st – Maroubra 90.97
  • 2nd – North Narrabeen 72.80
  • 3rd – Elouera 57.17
  • 4th – Scarborough 53.37
  • 5th – Werri Beach
  • 6th – Avoca
  • 7th – North Shelly
  • 8th – North Avalon
  • 9th – Merewether
  • 10th – Curl Curl
  • 11th – Cronulla
  • 12th – Sandon Point
  • 13th – Ulladulla “A”
  • 14th – Ulladulla “B”
  • 15th – Jones Beach
  • 16th – Queenscliff “B”
  • 17th – Queenscliff “A”
  • 18th – Culburra
  • 19th – Woonona N/S

2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Women’s NSW Qualifier

  • 1st – North Narrabeen 97.63
  • 2nd – Queenscliff 53.43
  • 3rd – North Shelly 42.10
  • 4th – Werri Beach
  • 5th – Scarborough
  • 6th – Cronulla Girls “A”
  • 7th – Sandon Point
  • 8th – Cronulla Girls “B”
  • 9th – Merewether N/S

The 2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series is a proud supporter of Lifeline. Lifeline provides all Australians experiencing a personal crisis with access to 24-hour crisis support and suicide prevention services.

2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series

  • NSW Qualifier - 9 & 10 March – Wollongong (Woonona – Stanwell Park)
  • QLD Qualifier - 14 April –  Duranbah Beach, Tweed Heads
  • Australian Championships – 10 & 11 May – Queenscliff Beach, Sydney.

(WA, SA & VIC Boardriding Clubs invited to compete)

The 2019 FISHBOWL Surftag Australian Series is proudly supported by Swellnet.


Nick Bone's picture
Nick Bone's picture
Nick Bone commented Tuesday, 12 Mar 2019 at 5:41pm

are the waves too shit to be held in other states?

I am the bone

nolocal's picture
nolocal's picture
nolocal commented Tuesday, 12 Mar 2019 at 5:49pm

Good question. Why hold the NSW qualifiers in the gong?