Drug aware Margs'

Sheepdog's picture
Sheepdog started the topic in Monday, 6 Apr 2015 at 9:55am

My swell prediction.....

caml's picture
caml's picture
caml Thursday, 9 Apr 2015 at 6:50am

North east is the wind for box & really doesnt hold over 6-8ft although a few crazy mutations have broken this barrier .ie box pro comp when ryan hardy won was ten ft or more but for a standup i doubt it

Sheepdog's picture
Sheepdog's picture
Sheepdog Thursday, 9 Apr 2015 at 9:50am
caml wrote:

Sheepie do you see the swell on the 15th at margs any good ?

Well, cam, as I have said, I am no expert on W.A local conditions.... But what I can see is serious swell in the order of 10, maybe 12 foot..... Looking at gfs, I'd say 10k offshores in the morning, backing off late morning to glass..... Possible light seabreaze in the arvo, pending on movement of high..... Must say, decent offshore flow up towards the nw.... Stiff at jakes, bluff etc......

Are you guys still writing off that madagascar TD having any infuence later in the waiting period? looks to me like it's still worth watching re' linking with southern storms....

southey's picture
southey's picture
southey Thursday, 9 Apr 2015 at 10:42am

as i wrote in the initial bells thread .
Back to back swells early ( days 1-3,4 ), then a chance of a westerly ( WNW ) component swell ( ie that Madagascar origin TD swell will intermix with ambient WSW sea state , the problem is the timing of that combined swell will probably hit first under NW wind regime as the sub tropical cutoff that it turns into will travel for 1000-2000 kms ontop of the initial STC produced swell .
So i held out on saying that the TD would combine with the Southern storm track or even enhance it as it as drifted down south into higher lattitudes . Reality is it'll be ridge supported all the way to alongside the WA coast , but long before that time be washed out of any real strength .