Beginner friendly spots - Sunshine Coast

CaptainKook's picture
CaptainKook started the topic in Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 12:42pm

Hi all, this is my first post.

I'm an newbie looking for beginner-friendly spots in the Sunshine Coast. Will be learning on a 9' longboard. Still need to work on my paddling technique and endurance so wouldn't mind finding a spot with more forgiving conditions.

Any ideas?

Craig's picture
Craig's picture
Craig Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 3:18pm

Welcome Captain Kook, I'll leave the Sunny Coast crew to field this one.

groundswell's picture
groundswell's picture
groundswell Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 3:35pm

Sunshine main beach was good last time i stayed there in 92 or 93..got two weeks of fun surf and by myself every time. also anna bay gets fun sometimes and handles the northerlies a little bit

spidermonkey's picture
spidermonkey's picture
spidermonkey Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 4:20pm

I reckon you would get more enjoyment from mountain biking, there's great tracks up behind Tewantin, crowds not a problem, you can hire a bike and give it a crack, guaranteed fun. Or you can flap around with the 20000 other sheep at Noosa and leave frustrated and angry. That being said the waves are pretty much always small and forgiving pretty much everywhere, all the time.

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 4:22pm

South
-Happy valley
-Dickies beach
-Moffat's good for mals, once have some confidence

Central
-Alexander headland

North
-1st point
-Noosa river mouth
-Sunshine beach

Or pretty much any beach break on the sunny coast on higher tide's most days.

zenagain's picture
zenagain's picture
zenagain Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 5:32pm

Low tide Platform on a 6-8ft east cyclone swell. Just paddle straight out, you won't even get your hair wet.

groundswell's picture
groundswell's picture
groundswell Wednesday, 22 Dec 2021 at 5:41pm