What Wax to get?

theswede's picture
theswede started the topic in Sunday, 15 Sep 2013 at 5:14pm

Hi

Don't know if this is the right place to put this topic but anyway Im completely new to surfing and i got my first board a few days ago. I need to re wax it. Im unsure what wax i should get. I will be surfing around Melbourne. Would this be alright as a topcoat?

http://www.zaksurfboards.com.au/sex-wax-dream-cream-silver-warm-to-cool-...

Don't know what basecoat to get. Would really appreciate someones help.

Thanks

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming Sunday, 15 Sep 2013 at 6:11pm

No need for base coats just any cold water wax is fine in Victoria, i don't know what that exact wax is like in the link, but id stay away from any wax that could be for warm water, its just harder wax so doesn't go too soft in warm water, but warm water wax in cold water like Victoria can be a less tacky, even possibly slippery.

Just drop into your local surf shop and if in doubt just act cool and say can i just grab a block of wax, and if they ask which one, ask them what one do you think is best, there always keen to tell you what they think is best.

Personally I normally just use Mrs Palmers, but thats only really because ive got a stack of blocks from my addiction to buying boards.(I also live in Vicco)

Just use a circler motion when putting it on don't press to hard, you just want it to bead up a bit and add a little before every surf or use a wax comb to rough it up a bit to get some grip.

I also rub just a little on the top of the rails where i grab when duck diving or pushing to get up, but each to there own i guess.

theswede's picture
theswede's picture
theswede Sunday, 15 Sep 2013 at 6:24pm

Hi
Okay cool thank you. Ill go to a local store tomorrow and see what they recommend :)

groundswell's picture
groundswell's picture
groundswell Monday, 16 Sep 2013 at 9:55am