Triathlons for non-triathletes

thermalben's picture
thermalben started the topic in Monday, 25 Mar 2024 at 7:25am

Decided on a whim late last week to enter the Kingy Triathlon, which ran yesterday.

Caveat: I've never done anything like this in my life before. Aside from a brief spell of tennis in high school, I've only ever surfed.

I had also done zero training.

Perhaps this was a mid-life crisis? I'm 49 now and determined to maintain some degree of fitness as I get old, despite the ever-present allure of quality dark ales and a local cheese factory around the corner.

I bought a pair of swimming goggles the day before the event, and did the whole thing in a pair of boardies, along with an old pair of runners and my low-end mountain bike.

Kinda felt like someone rocking up at six-foot Burleigh and rocking off with a foamie under the arm.

Fortunately, I ended up finishing without having to stop at all, and I didn't come last either (554 competitors in my division, I came 391).

Was great to see the inside of another sport too.. the whole triathlon scene is unreal, with lots of interesting, friendly people - and I can see how much fun it'd be to travel from event to event.

Holy smokes though, you reckon surfing is expensive? Some of the kit these people had...

Would I do it again? Yeah, I reckon it'll be fun to do this one every year as it's in my back yard. Scored a pretty decent rash from my boardies though so I reckon I'll probably invest in a pair of pants, and also borrow a road bike too (had a sympathetic competitor pull alongside me on the cycling part, and say "jeez I really feel sorry for you on that mountain bike, mate" before streaking ahead).

thermalben's picture
thermalben's picture
thermalben Monday, 25 Mar 2024 at 7:27am

Coming into the finish line....

ashsam's picture
ashsam's picture
ashsam Monday, 25 Mar 2024 at 7:42am

Wow good effort.