Guitar, drums, bass, tab, lesson, gear talk, music making thread.

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming started the topic in Sunday, 18 Jun 2023 at 9:14am

Not sure if much interest in this, but yeah the thread topic says it all,

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming Sunday, 18 Jun 2023 at 9:47am

Im just an average shitty guitarist and mostly just like to noodle for my own pleasure to relax.

Never really had much interest in bass, but got a cheap bass for free the other month and really loving noodling on it and just trying to learn some classic songs has really given me an appreciation for the music of bands that ive often not been that into, and its kind of also made me listen and re look at how i listen to some music. really taking in the bass rather than just the guitar.

Anyway never been a huge RHCP fan and they kind of get some shit at times, but I have new appreciation for how beautiful fleas bass lines are and his bass playing.

This songs bass line is perfect and fun to play* and how on earth did this song get left off Blood sugar sex magic?

All boxes ticked for perfection for me, little Intro lick, then that bass line through versus with just the odd slight variation and then switches into that chorus, then that slapping bridge part, then after the 4 minute mark there is even a a few sections where he kind of goes into little bass runs & solo's, its all just perfect, IMHO its one of the best bass lines and use of bass ever, even that one very last note is right in its place where it should be

* I dont know if i will ever be able to play the whole thing or get it to sound as it really should, but have the versus down pat, working on through the bridge/chorus and still working on my finger picking technique, hard to break the habit of just playing with my thumb which also has a cool feel/sound, but the classic right hand bass technique does have a cool flow when you get going.

poo-man's picture
poo-man's picture