Good SE swell Sunshine Coast beaches?

carys.rhiannon's picture
carys.rhiannon started the topic in Saturday, 14 Nov 2015 at 10:45pm

Any advice on good beaches on the Sunny Coast to hit up for beach breaks when the swell is South Easterly? The forecast for next week says that south-facing beaches will be best, but as far as I can tell, they don't exist on the Sunshine Coast??

I'm new to this, any help is much appreciated :)

thermalben's picture
thermalben's picture
thermalben Sunday, 15 Nov 2015 at 5:59am

The term 'south facing beaches' is a generic reference in SE Qld, meaning beaches with more exposure to the south than others. In general (and without naming specific beaches) you'll find they usually occur towards the northern ends of various stretches, as southerly swells experience less obstruction and interference here (i.e. from a headland, island, etc). 

donweather's picture
donweather's picture
donweather Sunday, 15 Nov 2015 at 7:56am

Great answer Ben. Keep up the good work!!

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming Sunday, 15 Nov 2015 at 8:44am

carys.rhiannon's picture
carys.rhiannon's picture
carys.rhiannon Sunday, 15 Nov 2015 at 8:51pm

Thanks very much for the info, Ben! Would you be able to provide any guidance as to which beaches might be best? Looking on google maps it looks to me that the top of Kawana (near the point), Yaroomba and Sunshine Beach might be good, as they are the northern points of long stretches of beach without a headland nearby to the south, and Kings Beach at Caloundra would be good because it is almost facing south, with no obstruction, is this right?

udo's picture
udo's picture
udo Sunday, 15 Nov 2015 at 9:37pm

Its a short stretch of coast drive around and look its the best way to work out swell/conditions.

thermalben's picture
thermalben's picture
thermalben Monday, 16 Nov 2015 at 7:34am

Carys, we don't provide specific beach information, you'll have to work that out for yourself.