Sunova Soul 6'0 single fin

trippergreenfeet's picture
trippergreenfeet started the topic in Thursday, 26 Dec 2013 at 12:06am

First off I'll let you all know that the following 'review' will have an automatic bias towards Sunova, I've been riding them for 15 years, both short boards and an 8' mal and Bert is a good mate of mine - he is the guy I learnt most about board design from.

I was a lucky camper on xmas eve, becoming the proud owner of two new Sunova boards, a Soul 6'0 and a Magnum 7'2 - more about the Magnum in a separate thread.

The Soul is to replace a HB Eve 6'0 that was lost to fire earlier this year (the entire quiver went up).

Dimensions are 6'0 x 20 7/8 x 2 7/8 - 33 litres volume.

The board has 1 x 4 oz and 1 x 2 oz top and bottom - epoxy / balsa laminate skin over a styrene blank with the parabolic rail made from built up 5mm balsa strips. The tail and nose are blocked. The board is finished in a 2 pac epoxy filler coat and then polished to high gloss. For the most part created with heat and vacuum.
So due to this process, the boards are not cheap, but they will last years with no drop in performance like an old faithful poly will tend to do. This one was $1000 delivered to my door.
I had a couple of Sunova that lasted near on 14 years with minimal damage and surfed great right to their fiery death.

Once xmas lunch was done and the family had gone home I took the Soul for it's first wave at Day Street, 2ft with a 10 kn cross shore. There is a solid right hand bank that puts out a few rideable waves even when the conditions are average.
This is what the conditions looked like.

I used the fin that came with the board, a FCS 7" Mako. I settled on just forward of midway in the finbox as a good starting point.

Board paddles very well as to be expected, being styrene / balsa they are extra buoyant for an equivalent volume poly board. Picks up waves well.