CO2 and climate change

smokeweazel's picture
smokeweazel started the topic in Friday, 30 Jul 2010 at 11:07pm

with the upcoming election there has been more and more talk of emission trading schemes and global warming etc so I thought I would try and dig a bit deeper and edumacate myself somewhat.

The deeper I dig however, I can't find any real evidence that CO2 is driving the change.

I'm not a climate skeptic, nor a denier or whatever else, I'm just a regular surfer who's keen on the environment and trying to get my head around it. There are much smarter people than me on this site, and i'm keen to get some input from you guys, especially those with climate back grounds to help me understand it all

benski's picture
benski's picture
benski Saturday, 31 Jul 2010 at 1:24am

smokeweazel,

I don't have a climate background, but I am a scientist in a different field. I'll go into what I think is the most compelling piece of evidence for a link between CO2 and climate change. But from what I gather, there are difficulties with proving a causal link between CO2 and changing climate. Firstly, we can't do a big lab experiment with the earth. We are doing half of one, but we don't have a "control earth" where we aren't adding CO2 to the atmosphere at the same time. So these things have to be shown through multiple lines of evidence, and identifying causal links along the way.

An important piece of evidence is with regards to the wavelength of infrared radiation that CO2 absorbs. The greenhouse effect works by solar radiation moving through the atmosphere, hitting the earth where it converts to infrared radiation and heads back out. Certain gasses in the atmosphere trap some of this infrared radiation warming the atmosphere and the earth. This is normal, not controversial and is what makes the earth habital for species like us. Without an atmosphere trapping some of the outgoing infrared radiation the earth would be much colder.