Understanding Surf Report Rating

andosbf's picture
andosbf started the topic in Friday, 21 Dec 2018 at 8:01am

Hi everyone, I'm new to Swellnet, recently got my subscription here mostly because of the regional forecast, I really like the way the regional forecast is written, the way ben(usually him) explains what is going in and what to expect is nice, it is good to learn about local systems and how it works. Nice job on it.

One thing that confuses me here though is the Surf Report "Rating", the last couple weeks most of the days were really poor surf-wise(here on the goldie) and the rating number has been consistently on the 4/5 range one day it even was 6.

My first understand of this metric, "rating", was that it means "general surf condition", so 4,5,6 would mean average surf conditions but, in my option, the surf was way bellow average lately(maybe we had 1 or 2 good days in the last couple weeks). So I wonder if I'm misunderstanding it.

Would the rating mean something like the following:

0 - flats
1, 2, 3 - levels of poor surf quality, 1 below poor, almost flat, ...., 3 meaning poor
4, 5, 6 - average surf, 4- below average , 5 - average , 6 - a bit over the average
7, 8, 9 - excellent range, good conditions

Am I right about my "rating" assumption?

I'm just trying to get a better understand of the service/tool provided.

Thanks in advance!

thermalben's picture
thermalben's picture
thermalben Wednesday, 26 Dec 2018 at 7:52am

Hi mate

Great topic.. we've been meaning to cover this in an article for a while, but just haven't got around to it. 

One of the fascinating things about surfers and surf reports is that everyone assesses things differently. One surfer's poor onshore surf is another surfer's fun empty beachies. Another surfer's perfect sandbottom pointbreak is another surfer's crowded nightmare.

Additionally, the perception of the surf report relates to a couple of other variables, such as: