New to Surfing

rob's picture
rob started the topic in Friday, 5 Feb 2010 at 8:32am

Hello I am new to surfing and thought I could use the depth of knowledge of swellnet forum to obtain some friendly advice. I am 47yrs, 165cm and 80kg. I took a lesson down at Wollongong and got the surfing bug. I had done some initial research and was going to purchase a 7'6" mini mal then I spoke with a local shaper who advised that his 6'8" 21"wide 2 7/8" thick nugget board was a board that was best suited for a person of my size, height and experience level and a board I would not out grow. Again I spoke to a number of other experenced surfers and surf shop owners and was told that the nugget would fit the bill. I've been in the water about 6 times for about an hour and a half each time and still struggling to stand up. Is all about persistence and more time in the water. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

denhugh's picture
denhugh's picture
denhugh Friday, 5 Feb 2010 at 10:18am

Sorry can't comment on the boards. Mate I'm fairly new to surfn and just keep goin out. Took to it at an older age also. Just stick with it and soon you'll be standing, doin bottom turns, trimmn etc. I mostly go out with experienced surfers who give me heaps of tips like when to take off, where to paddle to to get the good banks etc.. All the best with the board mate. I'm a bit taller and heavier than you so I started with a 7'4" mini mal from Dukes on the GC. I ride smaller boards now but the mini mal was great to learn on and still ride it in smaller surf. Don't know much about the gongs waves so local knowledge is best. cheers bro

michaeld's picture
michaeld's picture
michaeld Friday, 5 Feb 2010 at 10:59am

Make sure you're committed if you're going to be spending hard earned cash on a board/s, nothing more depressing than having a mate that starts surfing only to stow away his board in the shed and let it gather dust.

macdaddy's picture
macdaddy's picture
macdaddy Friday, 5 Feb 2010 at 10:56pm