Beginners surfing advanced breaks

Kookman's picture
Kookman started the topic in Wednesday, 15 Dec 2021 at 12:57am

Hi all,

Unsure how many of you know 'gunnamatta' surf beach in Australia. It's nuts. Strong rips and strong surf. Even on small days, it's nuts. So here's the thing ... I'm an absolute beginner that surf's mainly whitewash. I've been to this beach twice. Once I got caught in a Rip and swam across it. Not learning my lesson, I kept going and learned to avoid deep water at the shore. Then today, as my 1 day off, I went again due to it being flat everywhere. I could this time feel it wasn't right for a beginner to be there (I kept surfing anyway). Point is, do you pro's and advanced surfers feel annoyed by people like me? Do I get in your way? Do you feel there's no way I should be at such locations? Usually surf another beach called Ocean Grove, which is a kiddie pool in comparison.

Sam2609's picture
Sam2609's picture
Sam2609 Tuesday, 23 Aug 2022 at 7:06pm

it's understood that we've all been there... and I for one relish in the blessing of an early introduction.
but a c*t is a c**t and they will be f**ked.
learn ettiquette(if you found the forum you can find the basics).
accept your place in the hierarchy and always check the inside, never bail you board.
dad bod's play reserve grade ayy.. Gunny is a huge beach so move to a different bank if your getting glares in the zone...

a good surfer can see when your not gonna make the grade too so dont get offended when your burnt.
your sense of achievement when you eventually catch up to the local rippers will be satisfaction enough.

stay dedicated, if you put your time in and get to know people you may even get some advice.

p.s
opinions are not always transferable and you might be annoying

zenagain's picture
zenagain's picture
zenagain Tuesday, 23 Aug 2022 at 8:09pm

Is this a pisstake?

If not mate, you're doing everything right. Keep at it and sooner than later you'll find out if you're annoying.