FluxFins - adjustable surfboard fins

Gary@FluxFins's picture
Gary@FluxFins started the topic in Thursday, 23 Nov 2017 at 10:06pm

Hi Swellnet community,

I'm Gary Irwig the founder of a new Aussie startup, FluxFins www.fluxfins.com. I wanted to reach out to you guys for some feedback on these flex adjustable fins I've been working on very hard for the last seven years here in Aus.

We launched on Kickstarter last week which is going well so far but now we are live, I'd love to know what you think of the idea:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1677310702/fluxfins-the-worlds-firs...

I’d really appreciate any thoughts, q&a, feedback, good or bad welcome!

Cheers,
Gary

udo's picture
udo's picture
udo Friday, 24 Nov 2017 at 7:00am

bump

indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming's picture
indo-dreaming Friday, 24 Nov 2017 at 7:55am

Honestly they look cheap and seem very gimmicky.

...but i guess someone had to do it.

Personally i think flex in fins is overrated and for the average surfer not something that noticeable, just a standard honeycomb fibreglass fin or even resin moulded are fine.

I'm not even convinced all the different materials make a noticeable difference, and I've bought the same template in different materials just to compare.

Even what people call plastic fins these days (resin moulded) are quite stiff and not like the early or very cheap plastic type fins.

IMO template, size and even foil is the most important and most noticeable aspect of a fin.

garyirwig's picture
garyirwig's picture
garyirwig Friday, 24 Nov 2017 at 12:20pm

Hi Indo Dreaming,
Thanks for your honest feedback mate. To be honest, there is actually a noticeable difference in the responsiveness of these fins as the stiffness settings are adjusted. If you, or anyone else would be interested in trialling them I’d be happy to meet with you somewhere, sometime to give them a run.
Cheers,
Gary

Bondisurfer's picture
Bondisurfer's picture
Bondisurfer Friday, 24 Nov 2017 at 2:50pm