Surfing injuries...

Pooley's picture
Pooley started the topic in Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017 at 10:44am

Long story short - had a gumby moment last week. Popping up, got hit by a mushy wave, pushed me forward and all my weight went through my thumb. Dislocated and tore ligaments. Doc is telling me no surfing and in a brace for 6 weeks, and then rehab for another 6 weeks! I've had surfing injuries before but this one is a first.

Has anyone had this happen? Is there any sort of brace I could use to keep me surfing?

6-12 weeks out of the water is gonna destroy me! :(

stunet's picture
stunet's picture
stunet Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017 at 12:22pm

Twelve weeks out 'cos of a thumb?!

I've got no experience in this at all, and I wouldn't openly suggest cutting corners, even though I often do that myself. You'll be the one to know how it feels after 3-4 weeks and if you can start looking for options.

At least it's one of the few parts of the body that doesn't also rule out bodysurfing.

crg's picture
crg's picture
crg Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017 at 1:30pm

Pooley...take it slow and don't push it.
I fractured my left thumb socket and snapped the ligaments completely. They initially plated the socket back together but this failed as I pushed the recovery too quick and it's now an artificial socket. The ligament had to be replaced from sharing the ligament from the forefinger. I now can't move the thumb and finger independently after a point. All up the healing process back to now what is normal for that hand was about 10 months and 4 surgeries. The hardest part is gripping your board to duck dive through turbulence and also quick take offs.
With thumbs the turtle wins the race mate!

Willow995's picture
Willow995's picture
Willow995 Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017 at 1:44pm