Best Tide Watch

Negative Ned's picture
Negative Ned started the topic in Wednesday, 2 Nov 2016 at 7:45pm

Interested to hear people recommendations on Tide watches. Anything from $100-$450

waxyfeet's picture
waxyfeet's picture
waxyfeet Thursday, 3 Nov 2016 at 9:38am

I would recommend looking at the Casio G-Lide series. I have a Nixon tidemaster somethingrather, and it's a piece of shit. Batteries die within a year, the watch does... for the lack of a better term, weird things (tide just disappears for example)

bevankoopman's picture
bevankoopman's picture
bevankoopman Thursday, 3 Nov 2016 at 11:52am

I think it is worth asking the question of either an tide watch is actually necessary.

There are plenty of free apps, websites and booklets that give you tide information. Before you go into the surf you know what the tide is doing - do you really need to have something that reminds you again when you are actually in the surf?

Watch manufacturers obviously want to add features to their products to entice buyers and differentiate themselves from competitors. How useful these actually is the question.

falboff's picture
falboff's picture
falboff Thursday, 3 Nov 2016 at 3:58pm

I got a Nixon ultratide for a xmas present. Batteries lasted 12 months then had to send back to Nixon. It syncs with the Ultratide APP which uses surfline forecasting. When I changed from an Iphone to android, learnt there wasn't a compatible android app so mine now just tells the time.

Average's picture
Average's picture
Average Thursday, 3 Nov 2016 at 9:47pm

I've had 3x Rip Curl analog tide watches for 20 years. The latest one is over 5 years old. The previous one made it past 11 years. Others report less than stellar lifespan but I've found them to be great. New batteries every 2-3 years.

I just like the convenience of having the tide available by looking at my wrist. Do I need to have a tide watch? No. Would I buy a watch without a tide display after 20 years with one? Probably not.