Barrel riding

novak's picture
novak started the topic in Sunday, 10 May 2015 at 12:28pm

Hey guys,
I'm relatively new to surfing hollow waves and am wondering if anybody has any advice on how to stay calm in the barrel, stall, good posture etc (especially on the forehand)
Any help would be greatly appreciated

groundswell's picture
groundswell's picture
groundswell Tuesday, 12 May 2015 at 9:40pm

Crouch low stay close to the rail and tight in the pocket. Not getting anxious in a pit, well you learn that over time. Skateboarding helps a bit as does visualization.
Visualise yourself in a tube of a vid or live at a break, imagine pulling in and staying calm, keeping a good line through it.
To be honest 90% or so of the time if you want a good pit you're going to have to have a fairly gnarly takeoff.
Easy roll ins into a good tube are pretty rare so getting takeoffs sorted are more important.
Ninja to your feet quickly.
You can get it wired in nice liney 2ft waves easier then work your way up.
Boards suitable for tubes help, fins and rails right help a great deal.
There are a lot of ways to take off, I still have a few I need to work on myself actually.
You can take off in the bowl,or from outside paddling a dropping into it, or sideways, under the lip, knife in, roll in, swing around late (this ones harder as you don't have much momentum into it,) no paddle thrown with the lip, no paddle straight into the tube,
A lot more ways to takeoff too but that about covers what will get you a few barrels.

It'd be good to have the run down of how to's for those from a few people and a photo but its probably easier to watch on vids in slow mo, and surf a lot than read instructions he he. Get the feel then push on harder.

wally's picture
wally's picture
wally Sunday, 10 May 2015 at 2:27pm

Generally your bottom turn is to position your board to run on a low line across the face. Bend your knees, stay relaxed, square your shoulders and look where you want to go.