What you wish you knew when you started

brian_muz's picture
brian_muz started the topic in Monday, 16 Mar 2015 at 8:24pm

Hi,

So I think the subject line says it all. I'm just learning to surf now. Having a ball but totally shit. Anyway, I was wondering what advice everyone would give themselves if they could go back to their first few times learning.

Cheers,

chook's picture
chook's picture
chook Monday, 16 Mar 2015 at 9:50pm

don't buy a board just because it has a lightning bolt on it and don't go left at pink rocks

mikehunt207's picture
mikehunt207's picture
mikehunt207 Monday, 16 Mar 2015 at 9:57pm

The cool guy/girl in the surfshop may not actually surf that good and often will sell you equipment that is completely wrong for you.

zenagain's picture
zenagain's picture
zenagain Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 12:40am

Wear more sunscreen and don't wear a fluro pink and pastel blue wetsuit.

whaaaat's picture
whaaaat's picture
whaaaat Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 7:40am

1. Spend time learning to read the ocean, and synoptic charts.
2. Watch the older dudes.
3. Learn to duck dive properly.
4. Don't trust anything you're told on web forums.

mothart's picture
mothart's picture
mothart Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 7:48am

Turtle-'when the wave breaks here, [makes a curling shape with his hand] don't be there.'

mothart's picture
mothart's picture
mothart Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 7:57am

'or you are gonna get drilled'

troppo dichotomy's picture
troppo dichotomy's picture
troppo dichotomy Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 8:21am

surfing sucks!it will consume your life,u will become a wave junkie!!dont try it.just walk away.......

Sheepdog's picture
Sheepdog's picture
Sheepdog Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 11:57am

Yeah, Zen re' sunscreen.... Skin cancer sucks.....

Blowin's picture
Blowin's picture
Blowin Tuesday, 17 Mar 2015 at 12:15pm

I wish that I'd known about the variations of conditions from beach to beach .