Improving your flow

stanfrance's picture
stanfrance started the topic in Tuesday, 23 Oct 2012 at 3:25pm

What are people's perspectives on improving style and flow in the surf. I have been surfing for over 20 years but recently, due to age and limited surf time, have found my style to be slipping. I find myself taking on tips from various sites generally breaking down moves but often suffer from the old "over analysis" achilles heal. What are the best genaral habits in surfing to incorporate that build an overall general improvement in your style and flow?
Specifically, I want to flow from move to move, be more vertical (i.e. top to bottom) and get tubed more. I'm probably classed as an average surfer who tackles most waves up to 8-10ft.

50young's picture
50young's picture
50young Tuesday, 23 Oct 2012 at 3:45pm

I'll be interested in the replies to this thread. I'd like to improve in the same areas. Do suffer from the over analysis bug. Should take my own advice don't think just do it seem to flow better when you dont think.

Craig's picture
Craig's picture
Craig Tuesday, 23 Oct 2012 at 4:13pm

While not especially good for getting more vertical, a surf on an old single fin will smooth out your flow and lines across a wave.

It makes you work for that line and source of power on the wave and once you find it they fly.

For the more vertical top to bottom surfing I think it's more a mental approach.

When your trimming and gaining speed through a section, once it slows down and gives you a pocket or lip to hit, what you have to do is head towards the beach.

This will allow you to open up the turn and attack from a much better position up into the wave. If you try and attack the lip halfway up the face you'll dig a rail or only get a half/check turn in rather than a top to bottom vertical turn.

So remember, get the speed up, then head towards the beach before cranking it off the bottom and aiming for the lip. This thought process should help quite a bit.