Alaia Survey?

nathanangelakis's picture
nathanangelakis started the topic in Wednesday, 21 Mar 2012 at 7:33pm

hey everyone i am a year 11 student and as apart of my SACE I have to pose a question to my self and research (shit loads) about it. and also create it, which i have.
my question is:
what are the steps and best ways of building an eco-friendly surfboard, alaia?

i was wondering if everyone could give me some feedback on their thoughts, as a sort of survey thing...... as you are a surfing community
i.e What do you think of the idea of an eco-friendly surfboard?
How do you feel about the notion of this more 'rootsy' traditional sense of surfing?
What do you think of there kind of recent comeback into fashion?
What do you think the general response of the surfing community to the recent alaia influx is?

Thankyou and would help loads

zambezi's picture
zambezi's picture
zambezi Thursday, 22 Mar 2012 at 8:20pm

Nathan,

Good topic mate.

I don't have an Alaia or any kind of eco-friendly surfboard, but, I often wonder where all the toxic nasties of the surfing industry end up. The Pacific Gyre ? I reckon you should try and contact the shapers using bio-degradable materials and hook up with the surfers who ride their products. Good luck with your SACE !

nathanangelakis Friday, 23 Mar 2012 at 11:43am

Thanks zambezi for the feedback, yeh thats a good idea i will probably also run a survey in a physical form amongst the local community, possibly boarding riding clubs (seaford, fly) and stuff.
during the creation of the board I have also seen that making an alaia has a much better aestheitc (in my view anyway) than the artificial white of of most modern boards, plus the board puts a much weaker dent into the environment than a toxic modern board
thankyou

zambezi's picture
zambezi's picture
zambezi Friday, 23 Mar 2012 at 9:35pm

Nathan,