board bumps

gannet's picture
gannet started the topic in Tuesday, 22 Feb 2011 at 4:04am

Well, seeing as though these forums are turning into medical help corner, maybe I'll throw my query out there.

Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm not talking about bony growths from old time knee paddling, but those soft, squishy build ups over the lowest rib. Nice adaptation to hours of paddling I always thought.

However, over the last 12 months or so, mine have gotten damn painful, almost to the point where surfing twice or thrice a day for a few days in a row is just not an option. I've been surfing for about 25 years. Gone are the daily surfs of grommethood, but I still manage 3 or 4 surfs a week (maybe staying out longer as some compensation).

Do I need to surf more? less? get a SUP (ye gads!)
Save me....

brendo's picture
brendo's picture
brendo Wednesday, 23 Feb 2011 at 1:50am

rib bumps? I've never heard of such a thing... does it happen even if you have a wetty on?

benski's picture
benski's picture
benski Wednesday, 23 Feb 2011 at 2:19am

My ribs got shredded in exactly the same place on a trip to fiji a few years ago, from surfing in a t-shirt every day I think. It was the coarseness of the cotton compared to rashee material. I've got some scars there now (big as a 20c piece?) which look pretty weird. Anyway, they open up pretty easily if I surf for several hours for a few days in a row.

When I'm gonna be surfing lots in warm weather I use a 2mm vest to combat it. I've tried taping em up and that seems to work, had a yarn with a fella who just uses bandaids and he reckoned that works. But you go through shitloads of the stuff, and your skin around the holes gets fucked up from the glue and stuff.