New Board

homer's picture
homer started the topic in Sunday, 27 Jun 2010 at 7:38am

Hi, im thinking about getting a new board but I want to get something that will help improve my surfing. Ive been surfing for 3 years and started out on a 6,4 * 20 fish type thing and now ive got a 6,0 6,1 and 6,3. All of which im happy with but I think i might have jumped the gun abit and so im thinking now I should get something abit simpler that will help me rather than frustrate me. My mane trouble is doing any turns that arn't snaps so basically I struggle with top turns and cut backs.
What would be the best board to help learn how to turn better and surf more rail to rail?
should I get a mini mal or a single fin fish and what size boards should I be looking at?

seal's picture
seal's picture
seal Sunday, 27 Jun 2010 at 11:37am

Homer, sounds like more of a technique issue than board to me. You probablly need to rotate your upper body more in your turns which is started by looking where you want to go and turning your head and shoulders there also.
I also think getting onto wider or longer boards is harder to learn how to get it on rail as you have more board to deal with and transition from rail to rail takes longer therefore is harder.
Instead of getting more boards spend a few dollars with a good surf coach and see if it is technique. Also get him to take a look at your board your riding and see if that is the problem. Alot of people could really benefit from coaching but think they don't need it, its only the board that is the problem. All the top surfers get coached as do tennis players, golfers ect. so why don't more surfers, instead of just bumbling through all the time and then blaming the board. Make sure it is a performance surf coach and I bet you will get heaps of benefit in no time at all.And no, I'm not a coach but have seen the improvement that coaching has made to some of the local kids.

ed's picture
ed's picture
ed Sunday, 27 Jun 2010 at 12:56pm