Converting a channel twin into a single fin.

johannes_rausch's picture
johannes_rausch started the topic in Thursday, 22 Dec 2022 at 6:17am

Hi there,

I have been surfing my first Channel Twin for a few months now. Unfortunately, the MOTE board is not available anywhere in Europe.

Because the rails are quite thick, I have the feeling that it is very hard to surf as soon as the wave doesn't have a lot of power or is huge.

It feels very chunky, and almost every turn gets out of control.
I don't consider myself a bad surfer, I've been trying to control the board for weeks now.

My idea is to put in a single fin box. This way I can either surf the board with a small trailer fin or as a single fin with side bits. Similar to the EVIL TWIN from Lost.

My current board is 6.3 (https://www.surfinestate.eu/en/collections/twin-fin/products/arecibo).

What do you think? Does this make any sense from a shaping point of view, or is it a waste of time?

Looking forward to an interesting conversation.
Greetings from Mexico
Jo

tiger's picture
tiger's picture
tiger Thursday, 22 Dec 2022 at 7:38am

Hey Jo. I'm assuming the fins in your board are a removable fin system such as futures. If you are using regular upright twin template fins, try swapping them out for a modern keel type fin. Their swept back template and base sits further toward the tail and give the board a lot more hold. Worth trying before exploring other options.

udo's picture
udo's picture
udo Thursday, 22 Dec 2022 at 8:24am

Good advice Tiger- Jo this may explain a bit

johannes_rausch Thursday, 22 Dec 2022 at 9:48am

Hi Tiger and Udo,

Thank you so much for your advice.
I've tried the following fins:
https://captainfin.com/collections/twin-fins/products/tyler-warren-twin-...
https://captainfin.com/collections/twin-fins/products/christenson-twin-e...
The second one worked a slightly better, but still not what I was looking for. I just can't push the board at all in smaller waves or non-powerfull waves.