Help with choosing my next board.

locii's picture
locii started the topic in Sunday, 15 Jun 2014 at 8:34pm

Hi folks,

Im at that perilous stage of purchasing a new board where I've narrowed down my choice of boards to a single board but am unsure about it's dimensions.

I'm looking at a Stacey Neptunes Ride - either in 6 0 or 6 2 flavours.

http://staceysurfboards.com/surfboards/neptunes-ride/

6’0 X 20 1/2 X 2 5/8 34.6CL
6’2 X 20 3/4 X 2 3/4 37.7CL

As a bit of background Im almost 40 around 85-90 kgs, 172cm and surf around 30 times a year at the Surf Coast, Victoria. I've been surfing for 30 years or so but never more than at a weekend warrior level. I'd say I'm average fitness - I don't have the paddle arms I did as a 20 yo but feel pretty confident in waves up to 4-5 foot.

My previous board was a Webber 6,6x 201/2"x23/4". It was great in small stuff and super easy to get into waves but it often felt a bit long and restrictive. Ideal for points but not so much for short beachies.

So the board i choose needs to be a bit of an all rounder with a bit of chunk to offset my age, weight and the less than stellar number of times I get in the water. The Neptune's Ride seems to get some pretty positive reviews and covers most of the conditions that I find myself surfing in - onshore 2 foot mush to clean 4-5 foot walls.

So the questions in the back of my mind which I'd love some help answering are:

1. How much will the lower volume in the 6 0 influence my wave count. It's still got a bit of chunk in it but am I better of going for the larger volume 6 2.

2. Will the 6 2 feel too chunky on the wave? Sure it will be easier to catch waves but will it feel like the spoon in terms of responsiveness and manouverability?

3. Does it really matter? Will 3l make any real difference?

Would love some feedback on this folks:) Especially like to hear from anyone riding a Stacey or even better a Neptunes Ride.

Anthony

wingnut2443's picture
wingnut2443's picture