7 books you will psyche on and should totally read: What Youth

stunet's picture
stunet started the topic in Monday, 17 Feb 2014 at 9:08am

Here's a list that gladdens. What Youth and "7 books you will psyche on and should totally read."

http://www.whatyouth.com/2014/02/14/radical-class-2/?id=16859

I often bemoan the fact that good writing is a dying art. It ain't necessarily true but it sometimes feels that way. The yoof, it always seemed to me, could buy a Canikon for a couple hunge, flood the 'net with images, and call 'emselves artists - easy! But unlike photography there's no shortcut to good writing: no autofocus, no colour correcting software - it's hard fucken work. And the first step toward it is to read lots and lots of great writers. So yeah, glad to see the yoof - What Yoof! - spruiking seven good books. Bit limited in scope and style but a good list nonetheless.

goofyfoot's picture
goofyfoot's picture
goofyfoot commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 10:29am

Let it go Lil’ Cryp.
Start the year off fresh.

stunet's picture
stunet's picture
stunet commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 10:38am

Thanks for the heads up on 'Scrublands', GF.

zenagain's picture
zenagain's picture
zenagain commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 11:20am

Up until recently I was never without a book. I'm sad to say the internet has really curbed my reading.

This year I resolve to read more.

Has anybody read 'Perfume' by Patrick Suskind? I heard it's pretty good.

Watashi wa metabo oyagi desu.

stunet's picture
stunet's picture
stunet commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 11:30am

Excellent book that one, Zen.

Good NY resolution too.

Blowin's picture
Blowin's picture
Blowin commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 12:05pm

Same here , Zen.

I would only read 10percent of offline content compared to what I used to . Sad. A few months without regular internet last year was a dream .

Perfume is a great book.

stunet's picture
stunet's picture
stunet commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 12:45pm

But the movie is a stinker...

zenagain's picture
zenagain's picture
zenagain commented Thursday, 3 Jan 2019 at 3:53pm

Ha ha!

Watashi wa metabo oyagi desu.

factotum's picture
factotum's picture
factotum commented Sunday, 13 Jan 2019 at 1:45pm

A long and excellent and essential piece by Bruce Pascoe. Great voice, great writer.

https://griffithreview.com/articles/andrew-bolts-disappointment/?fbclid=...

Blowin's picture
Blowin's picture
Blowin commented Sunday, 13 Jan 2019 at 2:13pm

Interesting.

I’ve not read Dark Emu , but I’ve heard mention of the accounts of indigenous houses within it. Anyone ever encountered a traditional aboriginal house or evidence or remnants of , in their travels ?

Kellya's picture
Kellya's picture
Kellya commented Sunday, 13 Jan 2019 at 2:28pm

Have read Biggest Estate by Gammage. This is next on my list.

Horas's picture
Horas's picture
Horas commented Saturday, 26 Jan 2019 at 12:38am

Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes .US marine served in Vietnam ,reckon he knows what went on.Intense read ,just finished it for the 3rd time.Fucken insane ,make of it what you will ,cheers.

Horas

blindboy's picture
blindboy's picture
blindboy commented Saturday, 26 Jan 2019 at 6:51pm

An Orchestra of Minorities - Chicozie Ibioma
In the tradition of Ben Okri and Chinua Achebe

Blowin's picture
Blowin's picture
Blowin commented Saturday, 26 Jan 2019 at 7:09pm

Tell me , BB .

Not chasing a spoiler , but at the end of the book does the Nigerian protagonist finally elevate himself to a suitable level in society and attain enough wealth to satisfy her family , only to be unable to invest his fortune ?

Does he then require the banking details and private information of a foreign citizen in order to secure his wealth and attempts to locate this suitable candidate through unsolicited emails ?

Of course he would probably need a small advance payment initially in order to pay money transfer fees .

AndyM's picture
AndyM's picture
AndyM commented Saturday, 26 Jan 2019 at 7:30pm

Might have to grab a copy.

"Rather, Gammage argues, the first Australians worked a complex system of land management, with fire their biggest ally, and drew on the life cycles of plants and the natural flow of water to ensure plentiful wildlife and plant foods throughout the year. They managed, he says, the biggest estate on Earth."

https://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/books/the-first-farmers-20110930-1l...